IEEE SA Standards Board

Responsible for coordinating the development, publication and revision of IEEE standards.


Established and appointed by the IEEE SA Board of Governors (BOG) the IEEE SA Standards Board encourages and coordinates the development and revision of IEEE standards. This includes approving the initiation of IEEE standards projects and to reviewing them for consensus, due process, openness, and balance.

The SASB gives final approval to IEEE standards prior to publication and processes all necessary appeals.

About SASB Members
The Board consists of no fewer than 18 or more than 26 voting members. They must be IEEE and IEEE SA members. In addition, an IEEE Technical Activities Board Liaison serves as a voting member.

There is one non-voting Member Emeritus.


2019 Roster
Gary Hoffman Chair
Ted Burse Vice Chair
Jean-Philippe Faure Past Chair
Konstantinos Karachalios Secretary, non-voting
Masayuki Ariyoshi Kevin Lu
Stephen Dukes [TAB Rep] Daleep Mohla
Travis Griffith Andrew Myles
Guido Hiertz Annette Reilly
Christel Hunter Dorothy Stanley
Thomas Koshy Sha Wei
John Kulick Phil Wennblom
David Law Philip Winston
Joseph Levy Howard Wolfman
Howard Li Feng Wu
Xiaohui Liu Jingyi Zhou
Member Emeritus
Joseph Koepfinger non-voting
IEEE Government Engagement Program on Standards (GEPS) Representatives
Lydia Mai Ouedraogo (primary); Richard Anago (secondary) Burkina Faso, Ministry of Digital Economy and Post Development (DEPD)
Ramy Ahmed Fathy Egypt, National Telecom Regulatory Authority (NTRA)
Rajeev Sharma India, Bureau of Indian Standards (BIS)
Hemant Darbari India, Centre for Development of Advanced Computing (C-DAC)
Ashok Rajput (primary); Vandana Singhal (secondary) India, Central Electricity Authority (CEA)
Sudhir Bhandari (primary); Premjit Lal (secondary) India, Telecommunication Engineering Center (TEC)
Samyoung Chung Republic of Korea, Ministry of Science and ICT (MSIT)
Achime Malick Ndiaye Republic of Senegal, Ministry of the Digital Economy and Telecommunications (MDET)
Afsin Buyukbas (primary); Fazli Kaybal (secondary) Turkey, Information and Communication Technologies Authority (ICTA)
Susan Nakanwagi (primary); George Kasangaki (secondary) Uganda, Uganda Communications Commission (UCC)
Simon Hicks United Kingdom, Department for Digital, Culture, Media & Sport (DCMS)
Marla Dowell United States, National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST)
Thomas Koshy United States, Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC)
Dave Ringle  


Committees of the Standards Board