About the Board of Governors

Board of Governors (BOG)

The Board of Governors (BOG) directs the IEEE Standards Association (IEEE SA) – establishing policy, providing financial oversight, and conducting standards-related activities within IEEE technological fields. It may also establish and appoint boards, committees, and other organizational units as needed to carry on the work of the IEEE SA.

To carry out its basic responsibilities, the IEEE SA BOG fulfills the following:

  • Maintain a current IEEE Standards Association Operations Manual
  • Approve IEEE SA Standards Board Bylaws
  • Approve policy additions/changes with significant financial/strategic implications
  • Establish and disband committees, as appropriate
  • Establish and maintain that IEEE SA members represent a wide range of basic interests
    • Technical societies, industry, government, general public
  • Provide financial oversight and decisions for IEEE SA operations as well as major program additions and/or changes
  • Recommend IEEE SA BOG member candidates which are elected annually
  • Approve IEEE SA Standards Board membership
  • Hold and attend meetings to accomplish the work of the BOG
  • Approve award nominees in recognition of exceptional service

About BOG Members

Members of the IEEE SA BOG reflect the technical and global standards interests of IEEE. Members-at-large must show involvement in IEEE standards activities, interest in and commitment to global standards, and IEEE regional representation as well as recent experience within industry or government.

2023 Roster

James E. Matthews IEEE SA President
David Law IEEE SA Standards Board (SASB) Chair
Gary Hoffman Past SASB Chair
Paul Nikolich IEEE SA Treasurer
Gary Stuebing IEEE SA Entity Collaborative Activities Governance Board (CAG) Chair
Konstantinos Karachalios Secretary, non-voting
Shmuel Auster Ramesh Ramadoss
David Chen Dorothy Stanley
Abhay Karandikar Mehmet Ulema
Glenn Parsons Walter Weigel
Non-voting Members
Chuck Adams Mark Epstein
Robert Fish Daleep Mohla
Kishik Park Robby Robson
Lee Stogner Yatin Trivedi
Dave Ringle

Sign up for our monthly newsletter to learn about new developments, including resources, insights and more.