Standards Medallion

Standards Medallion

Standards Medallion

The Standards Medallion is awarded for major contributions to the development of standards. Examples include but are not limited to the following:

  • Leadership in standardization of new technologies
  • Assuring achievement of standards development goals
  • Identifying opportunities to better serve the needs of standards users
  • Other contributions viewed as deserving of such recognition


The award consists of a 1 1/2 inch Standards “medallion” and brass plate engraved with the recipient’s name and year of the award affixed to a 2×3 marble paperweight. It is accompanied by a framed certificate. There is no honorarium attached to this award.


The award is presented by the IEEE SA President at the SA Awards Ceremony

  • Recipient honored at the IEEE SA Awards Ceremony (see previous ceremony)
  • Honoree highlight via press release
  • Recognition on IEEE SA website and social media post


Recipients need not be members of IEEE, and their contributions may be to standards of other national and international standardization bodies, providing such standards are in the fields of IEEE and constitute a significant contribution to the profession. There are no restrictions or preferences as to the nationality, race, sex, creed or age.


Annual Deadline 31 July

Nominate a Party for this Award


This award is sponsored by the IEEE Standards Association, administered by the IEEE SA Awards and Recognition Committee.

Standards Medallion Past Recipients


Stephen Antosz

For continuing long-term leadership and contributions to the development of transformer standards

Sara R. Biyabani

For leading the development of IEEE P1924.1™-2022

Matt Brown

For exceptional leadership and contributions to the development of IEEE 802.3™ Ethernet standards

Cheng-Jen (Allen) Chen

For leadership as standards chair of the IEEE Industrial Electronics Society

Paul T. Congdon

For long-term advocacy and for significant contributions that advanced Ethernet bridging technologies in the data center

Jeffrey A. Fordham

For continuous leadership of the revision of IEEE Std149™-2021

Ruth Lewis

For leadership in promoting the development of IEEE technology and society standards

Adam W Ley

For significant contributions to IEEE test technology standards

Gary Nicholl

For longtime technical and editorial leadership of IEEE802.3™ Ethernet standards

Mark Nowell

For leadership, technical expertise, and the provision of sage guidance through many IEEE 802.3™ Ethernet projects

Yonghong Tian

For exceptional leadership and skill in driving the development of IEEE standards on AI model representation, and compression and analysis-oriented visual data coding

Gary Touryan

For long-term leadership of the IEEE Traction Power Standards Committee


Bob Aiello

For sustained leadership in the development of practical, advanced standards for DevOps and configuration management

Edward Au

For exceptional leadership and skill in driving the development of IEEE 802.11™ Wireless LAN standards

Matthew J. Butcher

For dedication and perseverance in contributing to, and fostering the development of, a substantially revised and improved IEEE Std C95.3™-2021

Geoffrey Garner

For contributions to and education about the standardization of timing and synchronization for telecommunications networks

S. Michael Gayle

For longtime leadership and advocacy for jointly developed IEEE and ISO/IEC JTC1 standards for systems and software engineering and software quality

Marc Holness

For pioneering contributions and leadership to describe and implement data modeling using YANG in IEEE 802®

Peter Zollman

For outstanding effort and steadfast persistence in leading the development of a substantially revised and improved IEEE C95.3™-2021


János Farkas

For exceptional skill in championing the standardization development of time-sensitive networking

Wenpeng Luan

For leadership and contributions to the development of standards in the field of distributed energy resource integration

Thomas A. Prevost

For ongoing leadership and contributions to the development of IEEE transformer standards and the standards development process

Peter Reid Wilson

For leadership in standards and technology roadmapping in power electronics


Doug Edwards

For outstanding achievement in circuit breaker and switchgear standards development

Kirsten Matheus

For vision, leadership, and contributions to developing automotive Ethernet networking

Pratap Mysore

For contributions to the development of standards in the field of power systems protection

Jeff Rearick

For years of tireless, enthusiastic service furthering the development efforts of IEEE standards in the test domain

Duane Remein

For contributions to access networks (EPON, EPOC, and BiDi)

Craig Schlenoff

For significant contributions to IEEE standards by serving as the associate vice president of standardization in the IEEE Robotics and Automation Society, chairing the core ontologies of robotics standards group, and serving as the vice chair of the robot task representation standards group

James Edward Smith

For sustained leadership and contributions to the development of transformer standards


David Chalupsky
Roy Cideciyan
Paul R. Croll
Alan Flatman
Rich Kennedy
Bernard Metzler
Stephen Shull


Mark Adamiak
Alfred Asterjadhi
Jeffrey A. Burnworth
Carlos Cordeiro
Benjamin Cotts
Chengwei Dai
Victor Huang
Charles W. Johnson, Jr.
Glen Kramer
Leonardo Lima
Richard Mellitz
Bertrand Poulin
George Zimmerman


Bruce B. Barrow
Kerry Blinco
Ted A. Burse
Carole C. Carey
Sudhakar E. Cherukupalli
Robert S. Fish
James R. Frysinger
Anthony Ki Cheong Ho
Abhay Karandikar
Brad Lehman
Michael J. Thompson
Mehmet Ulema
Michael W. Wactor
C.T. (Tim) Wall
Jan J. Wittenber


William J. Bergman
Alfred Crouch
Chris DiMinico
Vinko Erceg
Alexander D. Gelman
Stephen Haddock
Apurva N. Mody
Paul S. Schluter


Pete Anslow
Malcolm Clarke
Jean-Philippe Faure
Norman Finn
Lowell Johnson
Jim LeClare
Ken Martin
Brian Reinhold
David Stone
Philip Winstona


Hanna Abdallah
Michael Bennett
Kenneth Brown
Christopher Clark
John D’Ambrosia
Wael Diab
Ramsis Girgis
Adam Healey
Oleg Logvinov
Albert Martin
Robin Tasker
James Wilson


Douglas Bogia
Michael Champagne
Philip Hopkinson
James Liming
Robert Nowell
Purva Rajkotia
Anne Marie Sahazizian
Adrian Stephens

Related Links

Sign up for our monthly newsletter to learn about new developments, including resources, insights and more.