International Award

International Award

This award may be presented annually to an IEEE SA individual member who has made an extraordinary contribution to establishing the IEEE SA as a world-class leader in standardization.

Examples include but are not limited to individuals who excel in the following activities (regardless of venue or activity):

  • Achieving acceptance of an SA standard for world-wide implementation.
  • Harmonizing an SA standard with international market requirements.
  • Interacting with national and international bodies to enhance their understanding of the breadth and strength of the SA standards program.


This recognition consists of a crystal globe and certificate. There is no honorarium attached to this award.


The award is presented by the IEEE SA President at the SA Awards Ceremony

  • Recipient honored at the IEEE SA Awards Ceremony (see previous ceremony)
  • Honoree highlight via press release
  • Recognition on IEEE SA website and social media post


The recipient must be an IEEE SA member and IEEE member. There are no restrictions or preferences as to the nationality, race, sex, creed or age.


Annual Deadline 31 July

Nominate a Party for this Award

Suggested Location for Presentation of Award

The award is to be presented at the annual IEEE SA Awards Ceremony. There is no funding from the IEEE SA Board of Governors for the recipient for travel to or accommodations at the award venue.


This award is sponsored by the IEEE Standards Association, administered by the IEEE SA Awards and Recognition Committee.

International Award Past Recipients


Dennis Brophy

For global efforts to drive definition, acceptance, and use of electronic design automation standards including IEEE 1076™ (VHDL), IEEE 1666™ (SystemC), and IEEE 1800™ (SystemVerilog)


Richard H. Hulett

For outstanding long-term contributions in establishing IEEE SA trace heating
standards internationally


Jingxuan (Joanne) Hu

For outstanding contributions to the promotion of IEEE switchgear standards internationally


W. Charlton (Chuck) Adams, Jr.

For his exemplary leadership to shape the current incarnation of the IEEE SA Corporate Program and for serving as the first chair of the IEEE SA Corporate Advisory Group, creating methodologies that expanded the global reach of IEEE standards development, particularly in China

Teresa Doran

For outstanding achievement and dedication to the harmonization of systems and software engineering life-cycle process standards within the international community​

Cheryl Jones

For exceptional contributions over more than 25 years toward the development of systems engineering standards and guidance across many standards development organizations and industry associations, achieving acceptance of multiple IEEE standards for worldwide implementation for systems engineering

Vikass Monebhurrun

For significant contributions to the development of international standards related to the field of antennas and propagation


Leslie T. Falkingham

For his extraordinary leadership and dedication in the field of Dual Logo standards and acceptance of these standards by the international community

William Whyte

For proposing, pursuing, and successfully achieving the harmonization of ETSI and IEEE connected vehicle communications security standards, basing these and future standards on IEEE Std 1609.2-2016 and IEEE Std 1609.2a-2017​


Giorgi Bit-Babik

For his contribution to international standards for​ ​ radiofrequency compliance assessment​

Craig A. Colopy

For selfless dedication to worldwide Step-Voltage Regulator​ ​and On-Load Tap Changer standards as IEEE, IEC, and ​​NBR (Brazilian) standards​


Anne A. Bosma

For exemplary leadership guiding IEEE Switchgear standards toward harmonization with IEC and acceptance by the international community.


Bill Long

For exemplary leadership as chairman of the working group which upgraded IEEE Std. C37.013 to joint IEEE / IEC 62271-37-013

J. Patrick Reilly

For significant contributions in electrostimulation research and its application in harmonization of international safety standards for exposure of humans to low-frequency electric and magnetic fields


Melvin Reynolds

For selfless and sustained effort spanning over two decades to advance IEEE medical device informatics and interoperability standardization across international political and organizational boundaries

John White

For exemplary work in furthering relations with IEEE and China and in furthering development of IEEE and IEC harmonized standards


Andrew Myles

For promoting the global recognition of IEEE 802 LAN/MAN standards as international standards


David John Law

For his extraordinary leadership in the creation and deployment of the 802 family of standards and their global acceptance through education and awareness for the past two decades

Related Links
Subscribe to our Newsletter

Sign up for our monthly newsletter to learn about new developments, including resources, insights and more.