Living Standards Award

The Living Standards Award, established by Austrian Standards International, is the most significant Austrian prize dedicated to standardization and innovation. It pays tribute to success stories on innovative solutions, ideas, and future-oriented technologies with export potential. It also focuses on raising the visibility of success stories based on the application and development of standards. The 2022 Living Standards Award shines a spotlight on five categories that demonstrate the importance of standards in all areas of everyday life: from innovative charging technology for smart life to clean groundwater for climate protection to the fight against electronic waste. IEEE collaborates with ASI on the Living Standards Award and in 2022 has awarded a prize to ELGA GmbH for the innovative application of an IEEE standard that showed:

  • How it advanced technology for the benefit of humanity
  • How it advanced technical interoperability
  • How it demonstrated thought leadership in technology innovation

View 2022 Press Release

Hermann Brand (IEEE Vienna), Irene Kitsara (IEEE Vienna), Konstantinos Karachalios (IEEE SA), Nikola Tanjga (ELGA), Stefan Sabutsch (ELGA), Anton Ofner (ASI)
Konstantinos Karachalios, Managing Director, IEEE Standards Association, talks with Sandra Viczek, Researcher and Project Manager, University of Leoben

Past Recipients

2020 Recipient: Fachhochschule Technikum Wien

About IEEE

IEEE is the world’s largest technical professional organization dedicated to advancing technology for the benefit of humanity. Through publications, conferences and technical standards, IEEE has become a trusted voice in many fields, from aviation systems and telecommunications to biomedicine and consumer electronics.


Stay up to date about new developments, including resources, insights and more.