Lifetime Achievement Award

Lifetime Achievement Award

This award is presented annually to an individual having a 15+ year commitment to standards development within IEEE and other national and international standards activities who provided significant technical contributions to a standards committee or in their field of interest.


Recognition consists of a sculpture and framed certificate. There is no honorarium attached to this award.


The award is presented by the IEEE SA President at the SA Awards Ceremony

  • Recipient honored at the IEEE SA Awards Ceremony (see previous ceremony)
  • Honoree highlight via press release
  • Recognition on IEEE SA website and social media post


There are no restrictions or preferences as to the nationality, race, sex, creed or age.


Annual Deadline 31 July

Nominate a Party for this Award

Suggested Location for Presentation of Award

The award is to be presented at the annual IEEE SA Awards Ceremony. There is no funding from the IEEE SA Board of Governors for the recipient for travel to or accommodations at the award venue.


This award is sponsored by the IEEE Standards Association, administered by the IEEE SA Awards and Recognition Committee.

Lifetime Achievement Award Past Recipients


Jerome Blair

For more than 30 years of outstanding contributions to the science and technology of waveform generation, measurement, and analysis and to the development of associated international documentary standards

Leonardo Chiariglione

For thought leadership, technological prowess, and seminal contributions in the development and promotion of digital media standards deployed into billions of products and services worldwide

Paul Forquer

For contributions to the IEEE Vehicular Technology Society Traction Power Systems Standards Committee for more than 20 years

Ernie Gallo

In recognition of a long and distinguished career of contributions to IEEE and other standards development organizations

Robert M. Grow

For leadership roles in IEEE 802.3™, the IEEE Standards Association, and for key contributions to automotive optical Ethernet


Steven B. Carlson

For efforts to expand Ethernet into the vehicular networking, non-traditional power over Ethernet, and commercial lighting/energy management and building automation spaces

Norman Finn

For a career devoted to relentlessly advancing a multitude of IEEE 802.1™ technologies, from foundational to key components of Ethernet bridging to the time-sensitive networking toolset

Annette D. Reilly

For contributions to the international standardization of information development and software engineering processes

Richard A. Tell

For more than 50 years of outstanding contributions to the science and technology of non-ionizing radiation safety, and for developing standards for measurement methods, safety programs, and exposure limits


Curtis Ashton

For his dedicated leadership in the development and promotion of IEEE energy storage standards throughout his career

Ben C. Johnson

For his leadership roles in the IEEE Standards Association and for his leadership of collaborative activities on arc-flash safety


Chung-Kwang Chou

For continued energy, persistence, and dedication to inclusiveness of scientific thought through participation and leadership in the IEEE International Committee on Electromagnetic Safety (ICES) across almost five decades

Howard Wolfman

For dedicated and enthusiastic service and active engagement on the IEEE Standards Association Standards Board and its committees for more than 25 years, for outstanding leadership in promoting technology and standards development in the solid-state lighting industry, and in recognition of 61 years of continuous IEEE membership


Garry Roedler

For exceptional contributions over more than 22 years toward the development of systems engineering standards and guidance across many standards development organizations and industry associations, leading toward the harmonization of all major standards and key references for systems engineering.


T. W. Olsen

For meritorious service to the IEEE Standards Association through his longtime leadership of the IEEE Switchgear Committee, for exemplary service as a member of the IEEE Standards Association Board of Governors and the IEEE Standards Association Standards Board and its committees, and in recognition of 53 years of continuous IEEE membership.


Philip J. Hopkinson

For his national and international leadership through 45​ ​ years of continuous development of transformer standards​ ​ providing for new technologies and the implementation of​ ​ energy efficiency.


Michael Johas Teener

In gratitude to a visionary plumbing architect that over the past 40 years has brought us IEEE 896™ Futurebus, IEEE 1394™ Firewire and IEEE 802.1Q™ TSN.


Mick Seaman

For outstanding technical and architectural vision, leadership, and mentoring through 30 years of dedication to the development of standards for Bridging and Security in IEEE 802.1


Todd Cooper

For a lifetime of leadership, mentorship and sacrifice in standards development for medical device data communication and system integration. Fostering technical innovation, excellence, and benefits to humanity

Gary Robinson

For his exceptional contributions towards the development of computer standards across many Standards Development Organizations, and his patient leadership in the standards development process


Richard DeBlasio

For his achievements including foundational R &D and program development supporting multiple Standards Development Organizations, and for the creation of standards entities and personal leadership

Tony Jeffree

For his exceptional dedication, hard work, and technical excellence in furthering the IEEE Interworking Group 802.1 and its development of standards for Bridging, link layer security and network management


Francois Martzloff

For a lifetime of integrity, leadership, and mentorship in standards development for surge-protective devices and power quality fostering technological innovation, excellence, and benefits to humanity

Related Links
Subscribe to our Newsletter

Sign up for our monthly newsletter to learn about new developments, including resources, insights and more.