News & Events: Press Releases

News and press releases from the IEEE Standards Association.

Annual awards ceremony applauds significant achievement and participation in standards advancement

PISCATAWAY, NJ, 4 December 2017 – IEEE, the world's largest technical professional organization dedicated to advancing technology for humanity, today announced the recipients of the 2017 the IEEE Standards Association (IEEE SA) Awards, which were presented at the annual awards ceremony on Sunday, 3 December 2017, at The Palace at Somerset Park, Somerset, New Jersey, USA.

IEEE SA Awards honor recipients for their outstanding participation in leading standards development. The 2017 IEEE SA categories and recipients include:

Seated, from left: Karen Pieper, Bertrand Poulin, Hemchandra M. Shertukde, George Zimmerman, Adrian Stephens (IEEE 802.11TM Working Group) Standing, from left: Allen R. Goldstein, Charles W. Johnson, Jr., Jeffrey A. Burnworth, Erik Jan Marinissen, Alfred Asterjadhi, Philip J. Hopkinson, Victor Huang, Giorgi Bit-Babik, Richard Mellitz, Mark Adamiak, Chengwei Dai, Craig A. Colopy

IEEE SA Conformity Assessment Award:

  • Allen R. Goldstein, IEEE Senior Member
    For major contributions to the development and promotion of IEEE standards products through conformity assessment activities

IEEE Educational Activities Board/SA Standards Education Award:

  • Hemchandra M. Shertukde, IEEE Senior Member
    For significant and/or regular contributions to standards education

IEEE SA Emerging Technology Award:

  • Erik Jan Marinissen, IEEE Fellow
  • IEEE 802.11™ Working Group
    For advancing, initiating, or progressing a new technology within the IEEE SA open consensus process

IEEE SA International Award:

  • Giorgi Bit-Babik, IEEE Senior Member
  • Craig A. Colopy, IEEE Member
    For extraordinary contribution to establishing IEEE SA as a world-class leader in standardization

IEEE SA Lifetime Achievement Award:

  • Philip J. Hopkinson, IEEE Life Fellow
    For significant technical contributions to a standards committee or IEEE field of interest   

IEEE SA Standards Medallion Recipients:

  • Mark Adamiak, IEEE Fellow
  • Alfred Asterjadhi, IEEE Senior Member
  • Jeffrey A. Burnworth, IEEE Senior Member
  • Carlos Cordeiro, IEEE Senior Member
  • Benjamin Cotts, IEEE Senior Member
  • Chengwei Dai, IEEE Standards Association Member
  • Victor Huang, IEEE Life Senior Member
  • Charles W. Johnson, Jr., IEEE Senior Member
  • Glen Kramer, IEEE Senior Member
  • Leonardo Lima, IEEE Senior Member
  • Richard Mellitz, IEEE Member
  • Bertrand Poulin, IEEE Senior Member
  • George Zimmerman, IEEE Senior Member
    For major contributions to the development of standards

IEEE Charles Proteus Steinmetz Award:

  • David John Law, IEEE Senior Member
    For contributions to the development of standards in the field of electrical and electronics engineering

The Ron Waxman Design Automation Standards Committee Meritorious Service Award:

  • Karen Pieper, IEEE Member
    For outstanding service exemplifying the spirit of the Design Automation Standards Committee (DASC)

“IEEE-SA is honored to award these exceptional individuals for their continued and outstanding contributions to standards development,” said Don Wright, president of the IEEE Standards Association. “Advancing technology for the benefit of humanity would not be possible without the hard work and dedication of these honorees. These IEEE SA Awards allow us to express our gratitude for excellent work in standards development.” 

To learn more about IEEE SA, visit us on Facebook, follow us on Twitter, connect with us on LinkedIn, or on the Beyond Standards Blog.

About the IEEE Standards Association
The IEEE Standards Association, a globally recognized standards-setting body within IEEE, develops consensus standards through an open process that engages industry and brings together a broad stakeholder community. IEEE standards set specifications and best practices based on current scientific and technological knowledge. The IEEE SA has a portfolio of over 1,200 active standards and over 650 standards under development. For more information visit the IEEE SA Web site.

About IEEE
IEEE is the largest technical professional organization dedicated to advancing technology for the benefit of humanity. Through its highly cited publications, conferences, technology standards, and professional and educational activities, IEEE is the trusted voice in a wide variety of areas ranging from aerospace systems, computers, and telecommunications to biomedical engineering, electric power, and consumer electronics. Learn more at the IEEE Web site.

Media and Press Information

IEEE Standards Association
Lloyd Green, Director, Engagement Marketing & Creative Community Services
+1 732-465-6664;