IEEE SA Standards Board: PatCom

Responsible for coordinating the development, publication and revision of IEEE standards.

Patent Committee (PATCOM)

PatCom provides oversight for the use of any patents and patent information in IEEE standards. The committee will review any patent information submitted to the IEEE SA to determine conformity with patent procedures and guidelines.

About PatCom Members
PatCom is comprised of at least four but not more than six voting members. A member of the IEEE SA staff, as designated by the Managing Director of the Standards Association, shall be an ex officio, non-voting member. The chair and other members must be voting members of the IEEE SA Standards Board or Board of Governors, and be appointed by the Chair of the Standards Board for a term of one year.

2020 Roster

David Law Chair
Guido Hiertz Damir Novosel
Yvette Ho Sang (non-voting) Robby Robson
John Kulick  
Dave Ringle  


Join IEEE SA & Save!

IEEE SA Individual Members save 10% (on average)* on most standards purchased through IEEE. Learn more about IEEE SA membership
* Actual savings vary per standard