News & Events: Press Releases

The latest news from the IEEE Standards Association.


Annual awards ceremony acknowledges outstanding leadership accomplishments in the advancement of new technologies

Vivian Kelly, For IEEE Standards Association
+1 703 860 0577;

PISCATAWAY, N.J., USA, 9 December 2013 – The IEEE Standards Association (IEEE-SA) today announced the winners of the 2013 IEEE-SA Awards, which were recognized at the annual awards ceremony on Sunday, 8 December 2013.

IEEE-SA Awards distinguish recipients for their leading participation in standards development. The 2013 IEEE-SA categories and winners include:

IEEE-SA Corporate Award:
  • University of New Hampshire Interoperability Lab
    For outstanding corporate leadership and contribution to IEEE-SA
IEEE-SA International Award:
  • Andrew Myles
    For extraordinary contribution to establishing IEEE-SA as a world-class leader in standardization
IEEE-SA Standards Medallion Recipients:
  • Hanna Abdallah
  • Michael Bennett
  • Kenneth Brown
  • Christopher Clark
  • John D’Ambrosia
  • Wael Diab
  • Ramsis Girgis
  • Adam Healey
  • Oleg Logvinov
  • Albert Martin
  • Robin Tasker
  • James Wilson
    For major contributions to the development of standards
IEEE-SA Distinguished Service Award:
  • Robert Grow
  • Ted Olsen
    For outstanding and dedicated service to IEEE-SA Standards Board based on major contributions to the standards development process
IEEE-SA Lifetime Achievement Award:
  • Richard DeBlasio
  • Tony Jeffree
    For significant technical contributions to a standards committee or IEEE field of interest
IEEE Charles Proteus Steinmetz Award:
  • Mohindar S. Sachdev
    For contributions to the development of standards in the field of electrical and electronics engineering
The Ron Waxman Design Automation Standards Committee Meritorious Service Award:
  • Victor Berman
    For outstanding service exemplifying the spirit of the Design Automation Standards Committee (DASC)
IEEE-SA Education Award:
  • Jerry Peterson
  • The Center for Advanced Life Cycle Engineering
    For significant contributions to standards education

In addition, IEEE-SA Working Group Chair Awards were presented to more than 200 members of individual working groups for their vital efforts to publish IEEE standards and their investment in the standards development process. Members of the working groups also received International Joint Working Group Chair Awards, highlighting the partnerships they made between IEEE and either the ISO, IEC, or ISO/IEC during the development of a standard.

Any individual IEEE-SA member, or member organization, is eligible to win an IEEE-SA Award. Nominations are encouraged. For additional information on the IEEE-SA Awards, visit the Standards Awards webpage.

To learn more about IEEE-SA, visit us on Facebook, external link follow us on Twitter, external link connect with us on LinkedIn, external link or on the Standards Insight Blog. external link

About the IEEE Standards Association
The IEEE Standards Association, a globally recognized standards-setting body within IEEE, develops consensus standards through an open process that engages industry and brings together a broad stakeholder community. IEEE standards set specifications and best practices based on current scientific and technological knowledge. The IEEE-SA has a portfolio of over 900 active standards and more than 500 standards under development. For more information visit the IEEE-SA Web site.

About IEEE
IEEE, a large, global technical professional organization, is dedicated to advancing technology for the benefit of humanity. Through its highly cited publications, conferences, technology standards, and professional and educational activities, IEEE is the trusted voice on a wide variety of areas ranging from aerospace systems, computers and telecommunications to biomedical engineering, electric power and consumer electronics. Learn more at the IEEE Web site. external link