IEEE Standards Association Announces Award Recipients for Outstanding Standards Development Contributions

IEEE Standards Association Announces Award Recipients for Outstanding Standards Development Contributions

PISCATAWAY, NEW JERSEY, USA, 17 October 2019 – IEEE, the world’s largest technical professional organization dedicated to advancing technology for humanity, today announced the recipients of the 2019 IEEE Standards Association (IEEE SA) awards, recognizing outstanding participation in leading standards development. The awards will be formally presented at the annual awards ceremony on Friday, 8 November 2019, at The Hyatt Regency, New Brunswick, NJ, USA.

IEEE standards drive technological innovation, fuel growth of global markets, expand consumer choice, support interoperability and help protect the health and public safety of workers and the general public. IEEE SA provides an open, consensus-driven platform that empowers innovators around the world to collaborate both in and around the standards process.

The following are the 2019 IEEE SA categories and recipients.

IEEE SA Conformity Assessment Award for major contributions to the development and promotion of IEEE standards products through conformity assessment activities:

  • Duke Energy

IEEE SA Distinguished Service Award for outstanding and dedicated service to the IEEE SA Standards Board based on major contributions to the standards development process:

  • John Kulick, IEEE Life Senior Member

IEEE SA Emerging Technology Award for advancing, initiating, or progressing a new technology within the IEEE SA open consensus process:

  • IEEE 1876 Working Group for Networked Smart Learning Objects for Online Laboratories

IEEE SA International Award for extraordinary contribution to establishing IEEE SA as a world-class leader in standardization:

  • W. Charlton (Chuck) Adams Jr., IEEE Life Senior Member
  • Teresa Doran, IEEE Member
  • Cheryl Jones, IEEE Member
  • Vikass Monebhurrun, IEEE Senior Member

IEEE SA Lifetime Achievement Award for significant technical contributions to a standards committee or IEEE field of interest:

  • Garry Roedler, IEEE Member

IEEE SA Standards Committee Award for outstanding response to industry in standards development:

  • IEEE Consumer Electronics Society Standards Committee

IEEE SA Standards Medallion recipients for major contributions to the development of standards:

  • Doug Edwards, IEEE Member
  • Kirsten Matheus, IEEE Member
  • Pratap Mysore, IEEE Senior Member
  • Jeff Rearick, IEEE Member
  • Duane Remein, IEEE Member
  • Craig Schlenoff, IEEE SA Member
  • James Edward Smith, IEEE Member

IEEE Charles Proteus Steinmetz Award for contributions to the development of standards in the field of electrical and electronics engineering:

  • Innocent Kamwa, IEEE Fellow

The Ron Waxman Design Automation Standards Committee Meritorious Service Award for outstanding service exemplifying the spirit of the IEEE Design Automation Standards Committee (DASC):

  • Ernst Christen, IEEE Life Member

“This year’s recipients of the IEEE SA awards are recognized for their exceptional dedication to and involvement in the IEEE SA’s standards development process,” said Robert Fish, president, IEEE Standards Association. “Advancing technology for the benefit of humanity would not be possible without the hard work and commitment of these honorees. We applaud their achievements and look forward to their continuing contributions to standards development.”

IEEE SA awards are bestowed upon eligible individuals, IEEE SA members and/or member organizations. Nominations are encouraged. For additional information visit the IEEE SA Awards webpage.

To learn more about IEEE SA or about any of its many market-driven initiatives, visit us on Facebook, follow us on Twitter, connect with us on LinkedIn, or on the Beyond Standards Blog.

About the IEEE Standards Association

IEEE Standards Association (IEEE SA) is a collaborative organization where innovators raise the world’s standards for technology. IEEE SA provides a globally open, consensus-building environment and platform that empowers people to work together in the development of leading-edge, market-relevant technology standards, and industry solutions shaping a better, safer and sustainable world. For more information, visit

About IEEE

IEEE is the world’s largest technical professional organization dedicated to advancing technology for the benefit of humanity. Through its highly cited publications, conferences, technology standards, and professional and educational activities, IEEE is the trusted voice in a wide variety of areas ranging from aerospace systems, computers, and telecommunications to biomedical engineering, electric power, and consumer electronics. Learn more at

Share this Article

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Sign up for our monthly newsletter to learn about new developments, including resources, insights and more.

Send this to a friend