Active PAR


Standard for Electromagnetic Compatibility Testing of Electrical and Instrumentation and Control Equipment at Nuclear Power Generating Stations and Other Nuclear Facilities

This standard provides qualification methods and criteria to establish the electromagnetic compatibility (EMC) of equipment in nuclear power plants and other nuclear facilities. The methods and criteria incorporated in this standard apply to electrical and instrumentation and control (I&C) equipment. EMC qualification involves two elements: 1) testing to assess susceptibility of equipment to interference levels that bound the expected electromagnetic environment at the installation site and 2) testing to assess emissions of equipment to ensure that the contribution to the electromagnetic environment does not invalidate bounding interference levels applied for susceptibility testing.

Sponsor Committee
PE/NPE - Nuclear Power Engineering
Learn More
Joint Sponsors
Active PAR
PAR Approval

Working Group Details

IEEE Power and Energy Society
Learn More
Sponsor Committee
PE/NPE - Nuclear Power Engineering
Learn More
Working Group
WG_2.16 - Working Group for Electromagnetic Compatibility for Nuclear Power Plant Equipment
Learn More
IEEE Program Manager
Christian Orlando
Working Group Chair
Suresh Channarasappa
No Active Projects
No Active Standards
No Superseded Standards
No Inactive-Withdrawn Standards
No Inactive-Reserved Standards

Stay up to date about new developments, including resources, insights and more.