News & Events: Press Releases

IEEE Standards Association Applauds Outstanding Standards Development Achievements

Annual awards ceremony recognizes excellent leadership and participation in standards advancement

PISCATAWAY, NEW JERSEY, USA, 3 December 2018 – IEEE, the world's largest technical professional organization dedicated to advancing technology for humanity, today announced the recipients of the 2018 IEEE Standards Association (IEEE SA) Awards, which were presented at the annual awards ceremony on Sunday, 2 December 2018.

IEEE SA Awards showcase notable leadership and involvement in standards development. The 2018 IEEE SA recipients include:

Top row, from left: Bernard Metzler, John D'Ambrosia (on behalf of Ethernet Alliance and IEEE 802.3 Working Group), David Chalupsky, Lee Coulter, Stephen Shull
Middle row, from left: Michael Janezic, Keith Houser, T. W. Olsen, William Whyte
Bottom row, from left: Daleep Mohla, Karen Bartleson, Rich Kennedy

IEEE SA Conformity Assessment Award for major contributions to the development and promotion of products that conform to IEEE standards:

  • Ethernet Alliance
  • Keith Houser, IEEE Member, Consulting Engineer, Electric Transmission and Substation organization of Dominion Energy, Richmond, VA
  • IEEE SA Distinguished Service Award for outstanding and dedicated service to the IEEE SA Standards Board based on major contributions to the standards development process:
  • Michael Janezic, IEEE Senior Member, Chief of the Radio-Frequency Technology Division, Communications Technology Laboratory at the National Institute of Standards and Technology, Gaithersburg, MD

IEEE Educational Activities Board/SA Standards Education Award for significant and/or regular contributions to standards education:

  • Jorge L. Contreras, Professor of Law, University of Utah S.J. Quinney College of Law, Salt Lake City, UT

IEEE SA Emerging Technology Award for advancing, initiating, or progressing a new technology within the IEEE SA open consensus process:

  • Lee Coulter, Senior Vice President, Ascension, St. Louis, MO
  • IEEE 802.3™ Ethernet Working Group

IEEE SA International Award for extraordinary contribution to establishing IEEE SA as a world-class leader in standardization:

  • Leslie T. Falkingham, IEEE Fellow, Professor at Aston University, Birmingham, UK and Xi’an Jaiotong University, Xi’an, China
  • William Whyte, IEEE Member, Chief Technology Officer, OnBoard Security, Wilmington, MA

IEEE SA Lifetime Achievement Award for significant technical contributions to a standards committee or IEEE field of interest:

  • Ted W. Olsen, IEEE Life Senior Member, Retired

The IEEE SA Managing Director’s Special Recognition is presented in appreciation of outstanding work that significantly benefits IEEE and IEEE SA in the advancement of technology for humanity:

  • Daleep Mohla, IEEE Life Fellow, DCM Electrical Consulting Services, Missouri City, TX

IEEE SA Standards Medallion Recipients for major contributions to the development of standards:

  • David Chalupsky, IEEE Member, Principal Engineer, Intel, Santa Clara, CA
  • Roy Cideciyan, IEEE Fellow, Research Scientist, IBM Research, Zurich, Switzerland
  • Paul R. Croll, IEEE Life Senior Member, Retired
  • Alan Flatman, IEEE Member, Retired
  • Richard Kennedy, IEEE Senior Member, Independent Consultant
  • Bernard Metzler, Principal Research Staff Member, IBM Research Zurich, Switzerland
  • Stephen Shull, IEEE Life Member, Retired

IEEE Charles Proteus Steinmetz Award for contributions to the development of standards in the field of electrical and electronics engineering:

  • Craig M. Wellman, IEEE Life Fellow, Consultant, CMW Consulting

The Ron Waxman Design Automation Standards Committee Meritorious Service Award for outstanding service exemplifying the spirit of the Design Automation Standards Committee (DASC):

  • Karen Bartleson, IEEE Senior Member, Retired

“IEEE-SA is proud to acknowledge these recipients for their outstanding effort to further IEEE standards,” said Don Wright, president of the IEEE Standards Association. “Through their technical skills, hard work and dedication, these honorees  ignite the spirit of advancing technology for the benefit of humanity. These IEEE SA Awards provide us a showcase to express our gratitude for excellent contributions in standards development.” 

IEEE SA awards are presented to qualified individuals, IEEE SA members, and/or member organizations. Nominations are encouraged. For additional information visit the IEEE SA Awards webpage.  

Award recipients include: 


To learn more about IEEE SA, visit us on Facebook, follow us on Twitter, connect with us on LinkedIn or on the Beyond Standards Blog.

About the IEEE Standards Association
The IEEE Standards Association, a globally recognized standards-setting body within IEEE, develops consensus standards through an open process that engages industry and brings together a broad stakeholder community. IEEE standards set specifications and best practices based on current scientific and technological knowledge. The IEEE SA has a portfolio of over 1,200 active standards and more than 650 standards under development. For more information visit

About IEEE
IEEE is the world’s largest technical professional organization dedicated to advancing technology for the benefit of humanity. Through its highly cited publications, conferences, technology standards, and professional and educational activities, IEEE is the trusted voice in a wide variety of areas ranging from aerospace systems, computers, and telecommunications to biomedical engineering, electric power, and consumer electronics. Learn more at


Media and Press Information
IEEE Standards Association
Lloyd Green, Director, Engagement Marketing & Creative Community Services
+1 732-465-6664;