IEEE Standards Association Awards Commend Significant Achievements in Standards Development

IEEE Standards Association Awards Commend Significant Achievements in Standards Development

Annual awards ceremony praises outstanding success in standards development leadership and participation

PISCATAWAY, NJ, 5 December 2016 – IEEE, the world’s largest technical professional organization dedicated to advancing technology for humanity, today announced the recipients of the 2016 IEEE Standards Association (IEEE SA) Awards, which were presented at the annual awards ceremony on Sunday, 4 December 2016, at The Palace at Somerset Park, Somerset, New Jersey, USA.

Image of the 2016 SA Awards Recipients.

Top row from left: Michael J. Thompson, Richard H. Hulett, Yatin Trivedi, Tingyan Lyu, Jan Wittenber, Anthony Ki Cheong Ho, Kerry Blinco, Stephen F. Bush
Bottom row from left: Abhay Karandikar, Michael W. Wactor, Ted A. Burse, James R. Frysinger, Brad Lehman, Hermann Koch, Sudhakar E. Cherukupalli, Michael Johas Teener, Giovanni Acampora

IEEE SA Awards recognize recipients for their exceptional participation in standards development. The 2016 IEEE SA categories and recipients include:

IEEE SA Corporate Award:
China Datang Corporation
For outstanding corporate leadership and contribution to IEEE SA
IEEE SA Distinguished Service Award:
Richard H. Hulett, IEEE Life Member
For outstanding and dedicated service to the IEEE SA Standards Board based on major contributions to the standards development process
IEEE SA Emerging Technology Award:
Stephen F. Bush, IEEE Senior Member
Giovanni Acampora, IEEE Senior Member
For advancing, initiating, or progressing a new technology within the IEEE SA open consensus process
IEEE SA International Award:
Anne A. Bosma, IEEE Senior Member
For extraordinary contribution to establishing IEEE SA as a world-class leader in standardization
IEEE SA Lifetime Achievement Award:
Michael Johas Teener, IEEE Member
For significant technical contributions to a standards committee or IEEE field of interest
IEEE SA Standards Medallion Recipients:
Bruce B. Barrow, IEEE ddfe Fellow
Kerry Bddnco, IEEE Member
Ted A. Burse, IEEE Senior Member
Carole C. Carey, IEEE Senior Member
Sudhakar E. Cherukupaldd, IEEE Senior Member
Robert S. Fish, IEEE Senior Member
James R. Frysinger, IEEE Senior Member
Anthony Ki Cheong Ho, IEEE Senior Member
Brad Lehman, IEEE Senior Member
Abhay Karandikar, IEEE Member
Michael J. Thompson, IEEE Senior Member
Mehmet Ulema, IEEE ddfe Senior Member
Michael W. Wactor, IEEE Senior Member
C.T. (Tim) Wall, IEEE Member
Jan J. Wittenber, IEEE Member
For major contributions to the development of standards
IEEE Charles Proteus Steinmetz Award:
Hermann Koch, IEEE Fellow
For contributions to the development of standards in the field of electrical and electronics engineering
The Ron Waxman Design Automation Standards Committee Meritorious Service Award:
Yatin Trivedi, IEEE Senior Member
For outstanding service exemplifying the spirit of the Design Automation Standards Committee (DASC)

“IEEE SA congratulates the award recipients for their significant contributions to standards development,” said Bruce Kraemer, president of the IEEE Standards Association. “Technology advancements and related standards hinge on the hard work and dedication of these honorees. The IEEE SA Awards give us an opportunity to showcase and applaud excellent work in standards development.”

IEEE SA awards are bestowed upon eligible individuals, IEEE SA members, and/or member organizations. Nominations are encouraged. For additional information visit the IEEE SA Awards webpage.

To learn more about IEEE SA or about any of its many market-driven initiatives, visit us on Facebook, follow us on Twitter, connect with us on LinkedIn, or on the Beyond Standards Blog.

About the IEEE Standards Association

IEEE Standards Association (IEEE SA) is a collaborative organization where innovators raise the world’s standards for technology. IEEE SA provides a globally open, consensus-building environment and platform that empowers people to work together in the development of leading-edge, market-relevant technology standards, and industry solutions shaping a better, safer and sustainable world. For more information, visit

About IEEE

IEEE is the world’s largest technical professional organization dedicated to advancing technology for the benefit of humanity. Through its highly cited publications, conferences, technology standards, and professional and educational activities, IEEE is the trusted voice in a wide variety of areas ranging from aerospace systems, computers, and telecommunications to biomedical engineering, electric power, and consumer electronics. Learn more at

Share this Article


Sign up for our monthly newsletter to learn about new developments, including resources, insights and more.

Send this to a friend