IEEE Standards Workshop Planned in India


In anticipation of the related experiences and opportunities, IEEE SA is pleased to confirm its inaugural participation in INDICON 2011 next month in Hyderabad, India. INDICON is an annual IEEE event that is hosted by different IEEE Sections throughout India. This year’s theme of “Engineering Sustainable Solutions” resonates not only with the mission of the IEEE SA but is also reflected in the breadth of the IEEE SA standards portfolio itself.

In addition to staffing an information booth at INDICON 2011, IEEE SA will present a “Special Session on Standards“on 16 December.  The session will detail the global role of IEEE SA as well as the value of IEEE standards from an Indian perspective.  A portion of the session will explore IEEE Computer Society standards (John Walz, President IEEE Computer Society) and IEEE Nuclear Power Engineering Committee standards (Satish Aggarwal, Chair IEEE Nuclear Power Engineering Committee). Particular emphasis will be placed on ways that standards can and will be used by Indian universities, as well as Indian and multinational companies, to the benefit of academics, students, industry, and ultimately communities. Indian engineers will also learn how to participate in new and existing standards in development.

IEEE SA and India
In 2010, IEEE SA formed the IEEE India Standards Interest Group (SIG) and opened an IEEE India office in Bangalore. The India SIG enables IEEE to drive standards development activities, awareness, and contribution/involvement from the Indian community while the office further supports engineering and technical professionals in the country through a variety of educational and certification programs.

During this special session, a brief introduction to the IEEE India SIG, the India Office, and how to become active in each will be presented.

Featured Speakers

  • Harish Mysore; Director, IEEE India Office
  • Sri Chandra; Chair, IEEE Standards Interest Group
  • Satish Aggarwal; IEEE Standards Education Speaker and Chair, IEEE Nuclear Power Engineering Committee
  • John Walz, 2012 President IEEE Computer Society



Share this Article