Interoperability image

IEEE-SA Symposium on Electronic Design Automation (EDA) Interoperability

Learn about fostering standards-based interoperability and innovation at this one-day event.

TechMart, Santa Clara, CA
Thursday, 24 October 2013

Time Session
9:00 am - 10:00 am Registration, Coffee, Continental Breakfast
10:00 am - 11:00 am Opening Session: "Passing on the Interoperability Torch"
-Dr. Rich Goldman, Synopsys
Keynote 1: "Interoperability at the Intersection of Technology Innovation and Business Economics"
-Dr. Konstantinos Karachalios, Managing Director of IEEE-SA
“EDA Interoperability: Smoke, Mirrors and Crystal Ball”
-Dr. Karen Pieper, Technical Coordinating Committee Chair, Accellera Systems Initiative
11:00 am - 12:00 pm Session 1: Interoperability Challenges: Power Management in Silicon
"IEEE 1801 Low Power Format: Impact and Opportunities"
-Erich Marschner, Vice Chair of IEEE P1801 Working Group, Verification Architect, Mentor Graphics
“Power Intent Constraints: Using IEEE1801 to improve the quality of soft IP”
-Stuart Riches, Principal Engineer, ARM
"Power Intent Verification: Using IEEE1801 for the verification of ARM Cortex A53 processor"
-Adnan Khan, Senior Engineer, ARM
12:00 pm - 1:45 pm Lunch
Keynote 2: "How did UVM begin: Interoperability Standards at Freescale and the Standards of the future"
-Hillel Miller, Emulation and SOC IP Verification Manager for Digital Networking, Freescale Semiconductor
Tenzing Norgay Interoperability Award Presentation
Panel: "IP Interoperability in EDA World: Domain of Possibilities"
-Moderator: Edward Sperling, Editor in Chief, Semiconductor Engineering
1:45 pm - 2:45 pm Session 2: Interoperability Challenges: Custom Design
"Experience with Custom Design Flow and Interoperability"
-Phillip LaPlace, AMS Methodology Manager, Freescale
"TSMC PDK Overview and Challenges for New Technology Nodes"
-David Lan, Senior Manager, Design Automation & Methodology, TSMC NA
2:45 pm - 3:00 pm Break
3:00 pm - 4:30 pm "EDA 2020: Unconference" Participative Roundtable
-Host: Karen McCabe, Sr. Director, IEEE-SA
4:30pm - 6:00 pm Reception